friendly fire

Sorting out my coin vase.

During the period of mourning I learned about the #konmarie method of decluttering.  I even started my show, Radical Integration (2018) with it. It helped so much with separating what were my feelings and what were other’s projections.  I also found that the process of sorting helped me to channel pain that was out of my control. Pain that was hurting me pretty badly, yet was unintentional stricken.  Pain which I had to learn how to describe succinctly whilst being asked to take care of other’s feelings.

So, this is what I do.

I found a penny from 1992.  A beat up 2011 penny and a mouldy one from 1996.  There is an old large 10p coin from 1976.  I have 10 Méticais from Mozambique. A few coins from Canada, Singapore, Jersey,  and Switzerland. 50 cents from Malta that looks like a 50p piece.  I’ve never been to Malta. 10 Swedish Kronor and a dime. 

As I was sorting, it came to me that Elizabeth II came to the throne before the UK started using decimal coinage, which was in 1970.  She saw in the Euro which was in 2001. I remember wanting to keep some German Marks and French Francs and Italian Lira and other currency at the time knowing that would become memorabilia.  I didn’t.  She was also head of state for some of those countries. Her head being on the coins however not on the notes of Scotland and Northern Ireland.  Interesting.

I feel a bit better now.  The distraction helped, somewhat.  I think after some conversations a survey needs to be sent out by email or maybe have a quick hit smiley face buttons you see at IKEA, Co-op or the airport. 

The period of mourning came around 2013 going through to roughly 2017.  That’s not that long ago.  I did good, but I didn’t have to.  This morning I realised that although I believe I am healed, the battle scars are real.  

Time spent in isolation a timely uselful time. Yes, the Queen was around for a long time. She saw a lot of stuff.  My stuff is a lot. Just putting it out there just incase someone’s listening.

Thanks to @chisenhaledance and @choreographersgallery for the support in helping me order my thoughts and to present my work in a safe space.  Thanks to my bat-shit-crazy-open-minded-radical-experimental-artistic-community.  I guess it takes one to know one. Thanks to my beautiful, dare I say it, apprentices who are willing to share their time with me, to engage critically with my discourse, to apply it to their practice.  #blessed.

#friendlyfire #trauma #triggers

#radicalintegration #thequeenswingsbasie #normamiller

#posttraumaticslavesyndrome #posttraumaticslavedisorder #drjoydegruyleary

Leave a comment