Link

“Shut up, and sit down”, they said.

“Piss off”, he said.

What do you do when you’re asked to do a job that actually the job that you are being asked to do isn’t the one that you were asked to do and the job that you were asked to do isn’t your job.   Bruce Ykanji shares his thoughts on the conundrum.  The link will take you to Dance Style Mag and it’s in French so just pop the URL into google translate if you need a bit of help. 

I found myself in a similar situation not too long ago, where I was faced with the dilemma of weighing up my values against the “common goal”; the implied goal turned out to be quite different from the one to which my inferences led me.   Very convoluted sentence I know – but, hey this is why I’m writing this post, to help illustrate my point. Confused.  Yes I was too.  But not for very long, when I realised that I was right…again!!!!!  Oh…..ha ha ha….it feels so good to be right LOL ha ha ha ha ha!!!!!!!!

Joking aside, I absolutely abhor incoherence,   (or should that be incongruence?).  I am not naive enough to believe that clarity is the be all and end all: sometimes the murky waters can lead to fast flowing clear rivers…oooh how poetic…

As I was saying, recently my values were tested.   During the process of judging a competition, my opinion was inferred as being negative, (…personally, I prefer to see my opinions as raising points of contention.  If one chooses to interpret my opinions as negative there is nothing I can do about that)  and that my version of the “job” was not in-keeping with the “spirit” of the occasion.   I was even described as judgemental…ooh the irony!!!  But hey, that’s life, you live and learn and live again.

I don’t have an issue in playing by your rules, no problemo, I’m quite an adaptable sort of chick.   However if there is small print, I’d like to know.   I mean, it’s only fair, isn’t it?  Just tell me what you really want and at least that way I can make an informed decision, i.e. allow me to be myself, to breathe in my authenticity which will allow me to be the person whom you solicited for “your job”.   And if you don’t like it, please have the decency to accept your own part to play in the misunderstanding.

Misunderstanding aside, I was pleased to have shared my views on the matter.  Euphemisms, the thing that Swedes and Brits share.  I’m thankful for my time with the French and absorbing their disregard for such time-wasting.

So,

What is the role of a judge?

What are the responsibilities of a judge?  If at all there are any.

Do judges have a “common goal”.   Who or what decides this?

Does anybody really care????????

So,

what do you think?

BTW – that was my response too….Piss off!

2 thoughts on ““Shut up, and sit down”, they said.

  1. Cookie you are a fucking legend. Thank you for writing your truth. You are my muse. Thanks for the visit also. See you soon ❤ Peas and Harmonies. Women Are Demanding and your voice is too sweet to be silenced by anyone. Love and Strength and, most importantly, laughter mate. What we are doing here is so important we cannot take it too seriously.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment